Books

It has been a while since my last post. I have been keeping myself busy reading; science fiction mostly. It’s been a few months since I had the chance to sit and read sci-fi (The System of the World were the last works I read). I have to talk to you about three of this books (two of which I’ve actually finished and the third I’m reading at the moment).

I’m not one for giving recommendations, but this is an exception that I’m willing to make, that being said, there are quite a few books I will mention on the coming days, as I go through them, I am pretty excited about this books and their authors.

  1. The Android’s Dream by John Scalzi
    I won’t go into a review, there are plenty of those on the net from people who really know what they are talking about (some exceptions apply). To me this book is just one of the best works of literature I’ve read in the past few years, Mr. Scalzi is a top class writer, there is a bit of everything, comedy, action, love, religion, politics and it’s an easy to read book (that’s a good thing) that’s so smooth and coherent that boggles the mind. I highly recommend this book, and all of his other books too. I’ve bought and read them all, so yes I am biased. I already pre-ordered his next book The Sagan Diary.
  2. Accelerando by Charles Stross
    Charles Stross, what can I say of this incredible writer, I used to read his post on Slashdot a few years back. I didn’t make the connection, till after reading this book. Mr. Stross has a very unique vision, he manages to frame so many technological elements in such ways that are completely new, and provocative. Every word seems to be thought out and at the same time gives you the feeling of evolution. I’ve bought 3 other books of his that are still on my to read list. I’m looking forward to them, and those to come.
  3. Blindsight by Peter Watts
    This book has created quite a stir, a lot of people are raving about this book (it’s too early for me to have an opinion, I started reading it a few minutes ago, but I like what I’ve read so far). For one thing you can read the book for free, I strongly urge, that, if you liked what you’ve read, go, and buy the book. There is a reason why it’s free and you can read about it here. This is the first time I’ve heard of Peter Watts, and If I like this (and I don’t see why I wouldn’t like it) I will be getting his other works too.

While all the links take you to the hardcover edition, that’s for two basic reasons:

  1.  I tend to buy hardcovers.
  2. I’ve read that authors tend to have a bigger returns with hardcovers, whether that’s true or not, I believe the price of the books, does not compare to the amount pleasure and fun I have derived from them.

I truly hope you enjoy the above books as much as I’ve enjoyed them. Thanks to all those incredible writers that have made mi life better and sometimes bearable, it’s too long a list to name them here, but from Verne, Asimov, to Scalzi, and Watts thanks.

About this entry